‘Jane’ Named Critics’ Choice for Best Documentary of 2017

Other Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards winners include ‘Kedi’ and the Ken Burns limited series ‘The Vietnam War.’

Last night the Broadcats Film Critics Association and Broadcast Television Journalists Association held their second annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards, which was held in Brooklyn and hosted again by Penn Jillette. The winners of the awards were a more varied and unpredicatable bunch than last year, and there were two categories with a tie. See the list of winners below followed by the press release with more details.

Best Documentary — Jane

Best Director (TIE) — Evgeny Afineevsky (Cries from Syria) and Frederick Wiseman (Ex Libris: The New York Public Library)

Best First Documentary — Kedi

Best Political Documentary — Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Best Sports Documentary — Icarus

Best Music Documentary — Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives

Best Song in a Documentary — “Jump” (Step) — written by Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson and Laura Karpman, performed by Cynthia Erivo

Best Documentary Series — The Vietnam War
Best Ongoing Documentary Series — American Masters

Most Innovative Documentary (TIE) — Dawson City: Frozen Time and Last Men in Aleppo

(Brooklyn, NY — November 2, 2017) — The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced the winners of the second annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards tonight at a gala event, hosted by Penn Jillette at BRIC in Brooklyn.

“We are so happy to be able to celebrate the supremely talented, leading voices in this golden age of documentary filmmaking and nonfiction television,” said BFCA President Joey Berlin. “It was another great night in Brooklyn in support of many of the most underappreciated artists in our business.”

During this year’s celebration, filmmaker Joe Berlinger was honored with the Critics’ Choice Impact Award and filmmaker Errol Morris was awarded the Critics’ Choice Lifetime Achievement Award .

Presenters and attendees at the gala event included Clive Davis, Damien Echols, Gilbert Gottfried, Colin Hanks, Dolores Huerta, Barbara Kopple, Lawrence O’Donnell, Linda Perry, Kathryn Schulz, Fisher Stevens, Hannah Storm, and Diane Warren.

Jane took home the evening’s most prestigious award for Best Documentary.
There was a tie for Best Director between Evgeny Afineevsky for Cries from Syria and

Frederick Wiseman for Ex Libris: The New York Public Library . The award for Best First Documentary went to Kedi .
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail won for Best Political Documentary.

The Award for Best Sports Documentary went to Icarus .
Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives took home took home Best Music

There was a tie for Most Innovative Documentary between Dawson City: Frozen Time

and Last Men in Aleppo .
The Best Song in a Documentary winner was “Jump” from Step , written by Raphael

Saadiq , Taura Stinson and Laura Karpman , performed by Cynthia Erivo . Best Documentary Series winner was The Vietnam War .
American Masters won the award for Best Ongoing Documentary Series.

Host Penn Jillette lead the celebrations for this year’s Most Compelling Living Subject of a Documentary honorees — The Cats of Istanbul (Kedi), Etty Ausch (One of Us), Al Gore (An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth to Power), Laird Hamilton (Take Every Wave: The Life of Laird Hamilton), Dolores Huerta (Dolores), Gigi Lazzarato (This is Everything: Gigi Gorgeous), The Sung Family (Abacus: Small Enough to Jail).

The second annual Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards honor the finest achievement in documentary features and nonfiction television. The awards were determined by BFCA and BTJA members with expertise in the documentary field .

The Critics’ Choice Documentary Awards was produced by Bob Bain Productions.

The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing more than 300 television, radio and online critics. The Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) is a partner organization to the BFCA and includes TV, radio and Internet journalists who cover television on a regular basis. For more information, visit: www.CriticsChoice.com

The Nonfics staff works tirelessly to ensure that you always know what's going on in the world of nonfiction entertainment.