‘Cutie and the Boxer’ and ‘The Act of Killing’ Are Big Winners at 2014 Cinema Eye Honors


The 7th annual Cinema Eye Honors were presented tonight in New York City, and congratulations to me for being so great at predicting the winners (8 out of 13 is great, right?), including the three that went to Cutie and the Boxer and the top two awards — nice birthday present to Sarah Polley, that directing honor.

I did have some trouble with the categories I wasn’t as familiar with the nominees for, namely Spotlight and Heterodox, but now I’m glad to know that I must see The Last Station and Post Tenebras Lux as soon as I can. And if there’s any award I’m glad to have gotten wrong, it’s the one for nonfiction short, because A Story for the Modlins is amazing.

Check out all the winners below (asterisks mean I predicted correctly) followed by a celebration video from audience choice winner Dave Grohl.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking: The Act of Killing*

Outstanding Achievement in Directing: Sarah Polley, Stories We Tell*

Outstanding Achievement in Editing: Nels Bangerter, Let the Fire Burn*

Outstanding Achievement in Production: Signe Byrge Sørensen, The Act of Killing

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verna Paravel, Leviathan*

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation: Art Jail, Cutie and the Boxer *

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score: Yasuaki Shimizu, Cutie and the Boxer*

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film: Zachary Heinzerling, Cutie and the Boxer*

Spotlight Award: The Last Station

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Filmmaking for Television: The Crash Reel*

Audience Choice: Sound City

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking: A Story for the Modlins

Heterodox Award: Post Tenebras Lux

Hell Yeah Prize (previously announced): Josh Fox, Gasland and Gasland Part II

Legacy Award (previously announced): Barbara Kopple’s Harlan County, USA

(Editor in Chief)

Christopher Campbell is the founding editor of Nonfics.