10 Finalists Named for 2015 Cinema Eye TV Honors

By Jamie Maleszka

toxic hot seat

The shortlist for Cinema Eye Honors’ Nonfiction Film for Television Award was released yesterday via Realscreen, featuring documentaries by acclaimed filmmakers Nanette Burstein and Dawn Porter. The 10 films vying for the award are as follows, organized by network.


  • All About Ann: Governor of the Lone Star State, directed by Keith Patterson and Phillip Schopper
  • The Education of Muhammad Hussein, directed by Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
  • Life According to Sam, directed by Sean and Andrea Nix Fine
  • Six by Sondheim, directed by James Lapine
  • Toxic Hot Seat (Nonfics review), directed by James Redford and Kirby Walker


  • American Masters: Billie Jean King, directed by James Erskine
  • American Masters: Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train a Comin’, directed by Bob Smeaton
  • Sons of Mississippi, directed by Dawn Porter


  • 30 for 30: Hillsborough, directed by Daniel Gordon
  • 30 for 30: The Price of Gold (Nonfics review), directed by Nanette Burstein

The final nominees will be named this fall, after which a winner will be announced in January 2015 alongside other honorees at the annual Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking awards.